The Classics Club

5o Classic Books to Read in Five Years.

I have decided to join the people over at The Classics Club and have pledged to read 50 classic books in five years. This seemed like a wonderful incentive to encourage me to read more of the classics. Once finished reading a book I will post a review on my blog. Here’s my list which I am very excited about, and I think is rather eclectic:

  1. Emma – Jane Austen *
  2. Persuasion – Jane Austen *
  3. Pride and Prejudice – Jane Austen *
  4. Sense and Sensibility – Jane Austen *
  5. The Tenant of Wildfell Hall – Anne Bronte
  6. Jane Eyre – Charlotte Bronte *
  7. Villete – Charlotte Bronte
  8. The Big Sleep – Raymond Chandler *
  9. The Woman in White – Wilkie Collins
  10. David Copperfield – Charles Dickens
  11. The Count of Monte Cristo – Alexandre Dumas
  12. Middlemarch – George Elliot
  13. As I Lay Dying – William Faulkner
  14. The Curious Case of Benjamin Button – F. Scott Fitzgerald
  15. Madame Bovary – Gustave Flaubert
  16. A Passage to India – E.M. Forster *
  17. Howard’s End – E.M. Forster
  18. Cranford – Elizabeth Gaskell
  19. The Princess Bride – William Goldman
  20. The Quiet American – Graham Greene
  21. Catch 22 – Joseph Heller
  22. The Outsiders – S.E. Hinton
  23. Les Miserables – Victor Hugo
  24. Portrait of a Lady – Henry James
  25. The Wings of the Dove – Henry James
  26. Schindler’s Ark – Thomas Keneally    read my review here
  27. On the Road – Jack Kerouac
  28. One flew over the Cuckoo’s nest – Ken Kessey
  29. The Jungle Book – Rudyard Kipling
  30. A Wrinkle in Time – Madeleine L’Engle
  31. The Painted Veil – Somerset  Maugham
  32. Gone with the Wind – Margaret Mitchell
  33. Love in a Cold Climate – Nancy Mitford
  34. Beloved – Toni Morrison
  35. Animal Farm – George Orwell
  36. The Harp in the South– Ruth Park
  37. Swallows and Amazons – Arthur Ransome
  38. Catcher in the Rye – J.D. Salinger
  39. The Prime of Miss Jean Brodie – Muriel Spark
  40. Heidi – Johanna Spyri
  41. Dracula – Bram Stoker
  42. Gulliver’s Travels – Jonathan Swift
  43. The Hobbit – J.R.R. Tolkein *
  44. A Confederacy of Dunces John Kennedy Toole
  45. Huckleberry Finn – Mark Twain
  46. Around the World in Eighty Days Jules Verne read my review here
  47. The Colour Purple – Alice Walker
  48. Scoop – Evelyn  Waugh
  49. The Age of Innocence – Edith Wharton
  50. Swiss Family Robinson – Johann David Wyss

*Denotes a book which I am re-reading.

Challenge Start Date:

8th October 2012

Challenge Finish Date:

8th October 2017

Whew, that’s alot of books! Wish me luck – I think I’m going to need it!

3 thoughts on “The Classics Club

  1. Woo hoo for re-reading Austen! Her books get better every time I re-read them!

  2. Yes. I couldn’t pass up a chance to re-read my favourite novel of all time, “Pride and Prejudice” or my namesake “Emma”. The other two are firm favourites also.

  3. Brona says:

    Interesting list – nice to see an Aussie on there too 🙂

Leave a Reply

